27 December 2014

NGS announces upcoming deadlines

Earlier this week, the National Genealogical Society sent out a reminder that the deadline was fast approaching for their annual Family History Writing Contests. The deadline for six of the competition entries and award nominations is 31 December. The winners will be recognized at the NGS Family History Conference, 13-16 May 2015 in St. Charles, Missouri. 

The competitions are:
  • Family History Writing Contest: NGS recognizes the best genealogy covering 3 to 4 generations.
  • Award for Excellence — Genealogy and Family History: NGS presents this award to an individual or nonprofit organization for an outstanding genealogy or family history book published during the past three years.
  • Award for Excellence — Genealogical Methods and Sources: NGS presents this award to an individual or nonprofit organization for a book, article, or series of articles published during the past three years on genealogical methods and sources.
  • Newsletter Competition: NGS recognizes the best genealogical society, historical society, and/or family association newsletters. The competition has two categories: one for major societies (with distribution of 500 or more copies of each issue) and one for local societies (with distribution of less than 500 copies of each issue).
  • John T. Humphrey Scholarship: John T. Humphrey served NGS in a number of positions over the years, including education manager. The Society has renamed the Home Study Course Scholarship in his honor. The award is given annually to an individual who has demonstrated a serious interest in genealogy, and covers the entire cost of the NGS Home Study Course.
  • Rubincam Youth Award: NGS encourages young genealogists to explore their family histories with the Rubincam Youth Award. The senior category is open to students in grades 10 to 12 or between the ages of 16 and 18, and the junior category is open to students in grades 7 to 9 or between the ages of 13 and 15.
For more information, visit www.ngsgenealogy.org/cs/competitions. An additional seven competitions and award entries have a deadline of 31 January 2015. See the submissions calendar at www.ngsgenealogy.org/cs/awards_competitions_calendar for more details.  

The National Genealogical Society was founded in 1903 and is dedicated to genealogy education, high research standards, and the preservation of genealogical records.  

The above text was taken from a NGS press release. 

Society Saturday is a genealogical prompt of GeneaBloggers.
Locations listed are located in Pennsylvania (USA), unless otherwise noted in post.