04 August 2015

On This Day: Hershey’s Coffee destroyed

An early morning fire destroyed Herhsey’s Coffee On This Day in 1880. The coffee roasting company was owned by Henry Hershey. It was a two story frame building at the rear of his residence, located at 520 East King Street. 

Hershey estimated his loss at approximately $1800. The cause of the fire was not known immediately although Hershey supposed it was a “spontaneous combustion.” 

Lancaster Daily Intelligencer. (Lancaster, PA), 4 August 1880. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers. Library of Congress.  


On This Day is a prompt to further explore historical events.

© Jeanne Ruczhak-Eckman, 2015
Locations listed are located in Pennsylvania (USA), unless otherwise noted in post.