02 January 2016

On This Day: EU recognizes Irish language

“A country without a language is a country without a soul,” said Ireland’s Patrick Henry Pearse.

It was On This Day in 2007, that the European Union (EU) finally recognized Ireland. Irish became the 23rd Official Language of the EU on this day. This meant that all key legislation would now be translated into Irish and that Irish could now be spoken at council meetings.

Ireland has been a member country of the EU since 1 January 1973, according to the EU. There are currently 28 member countries.

January 2. Ireland Calling. www.ireland-calling.com/january2

On This Day is a prompt to further explore historical events.

© Jeanne Ruczhak-Eckman, 2016
Locations listed are located in Pennsylvania (USA), unless otherwise noted in post.